August 3, 2013

  • My spiritual journal

    I woke up this morning after a good night’s rest.  I turned on my back, placed my hands left hand beneath my navel, right hand on top of the left and breathed deeply.  With each breath I forgot a bit of the world and returned inward, inwards towards my own self and its eternal expression. Continuous flowing breaths of air that gently arouses energy within my being.  Gently the world returned as I left the world of thoughts behind.

    I reached out to pick up my spiritual journal. A journal where I write by hand the best of writing I could find in ancient manuscripts, holy books or even modern pop psychology. The journal’s leather felt warm in my hands, still energized.  I slowly opened the thick pages almost like a ritual. The bookmark is a poem I wrote called: “Initiation into the mystery”. I read it first for in a way it is still a road map for me into a deeper world. I entered a space of contemplation.

    My journal is far from being finished. It contains 24 articles at present. I paid a fortune for the book and selected each piece in it with care. I sat down and wrote each copying it as truthfully as possible. I learned to copy with minimal mistakes. I only write in it when I feel unusually awake with clarity of mind and when I can fully focus on the task at hand.  Nothing contained in the journal is my own original writing but in combination it  reflects me in all authenticity. My own writing I keep separate in a different manual. What is in my journal is what resonates with my soul, my ideals and my spirit. It uplifts me when I read it, it inspires me and it change me within.

    I can not give it as dogma to anybody else. Few will be able to relate to all for it is not a general revelation but a specific revelation to me of not just me but of the full potential that I could be and whom I am becoming.  The spiritual journal has been the single most powerful source in my own spiritual growth. The time and effort to select and copy what I value onto the pages worth more than what money can buy.

    I sat upright on my bed, cushion tucked behind my back for support and I read each article slowly, absorbing the words and allowing it to integrate into my being.  I felt each word’s edifying impact on my inner constitution.  Finally as my eyes glanced off the last words, I closed the journal.  My day will begin with a deeper mindfulness today.

    I am awake.

Comments (4)

  • go to go to my prayer group at noon but be back later-it looks good.

  • An interesting approach to spiritual reflection. I should begin a similar endeavor, but expressing through drawings. There are a great many paintings which tell these same stories. In copying the images, one is inevitably going to explore the themes more closely and carefully.  Many of my paintings are indeed an exploration and exercise in spirituality.

  • @Aloysius_son - Art is definitely an expression of beauty and inner contemplation and I do think you will benefit from a journal of drawings.  Thanks for your reply.

  • What beautiful wirting. I am really at home now. So Xanga is thinking of transfering all of this to word press is that right?  I have a word press site and my host is teaching me word press but I need word press for the very stupid. Not word press for dummies. It is complicated. What do you think. Jass

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *