April 6, 2013

  • Death the birth of a new beginning

    Death: The birth of a new beginning

    Family

    My father is critically ill in hospital for the last week or two. My sister sent me the attached picture. He has been battling cancer in his thought and kidney for a while now and he is receiving chemo treatment. Although we are still hoping that he will pull through the situation is dire. Ultimately when we are long enough on Xanga we have to write about sickness and death. Seeing my father suffering is heart breaking. He was an independent individual his whole life and it is the first time I see him as weak and unable to look after himself. I always had the greatest of respect for my father. Despite my father being ill this photo say much about my mother’s care for my father. I don’t just see my dad lying still in bed but I see the pain and concern in my Mother’s eyes.  In a sense my father is lucky to still have my mother with him to care and hold his hands. There are many in similar situations who do not have the companionship of another.  Having such companionship must be a blessing from God to him. It must be a thousand times more dreadful to face such a battle on your own and alone.

    Looking at my father, I have to face again the reality of death. The reality of old age that we might all be facing one day where our youthful life vitality will no longer be there to keep us the healthy self sufficient individuals that we are. My belief in reincarnation and my assertion that life continues beyond the death of the body gives me a different perspective. I can see now that death is not the end but the birth into a new life. For some this might come very quick and for some it is long and painful. I can look back at my father’s life and see how he grew as a person. I can value is never ending willingness and eagerness to work. I have not met anybody in my life that has my father’s work ethic. I can look at the essence he accumulated in the one life to carry forward into the next. My hope is not just the hope that he might pull through with this illness and add a few years into his life but my hope is in the eternal justice that life never seize but continue to evolve.  He might be at the birth of a new life on the spiritual plane of being.

    Even though I am far from him in his moment of need I could link into the cosmic and connect with him and bring within him a greater sense of harmony and a sense of peacefulness. It is invisible but a tangible manner of being there. However the time has come for me to travel back to my house and be there in physical reality.

Comments (9)

  • I am so sorry to hear of your father’s illness.  I, too, believe there is a life after this life.  It doesn’t make it easier to see those we love suffer, though.  I add my thoughts and prayers for healing and comfort.  Safe travels as you go to your father. 

  • I just turned 83, so the idea of the end of life is not unknown to me – many of my contemporaries and all my close relatives have died.I must say, as you near the end of your life, your attitude toward death changes somewhat. Many of us have so many physical problems that we welcome relief, others, as you say, look forward to the next great adventure. An interesting philosophical thought: When you die, this world ends as far as you are concerned.

  • My father is also going through Chemo and fighting cancer – bladder cancer.With the recent passing of my husband, it has really thrown me into a realm of life I am so unfamiliar with .. Feeling like I was hurled into an abyss of the mind.. I want so much to be able to contact him on the other side, I’ve always believed that death is but a change of worlds. Much love, hugs and blessings to you and your family.. Rhonda

  • @AradiaRose – thank you very stopping by and sharing your story. Sounds like you had been through a difficult time yourself. Stay strong.

  • @tychecat – at age 83 you are still a blessing to people like me whom you might never meet in person. I always valued the insight and wisdom you impart through your comments. Thank you for sharing from the richness of your experience.

  • @songoftheheart – Thank you for your prayers and thoughts.

  • Have your father recovered?  Thank you for sharing.  In the Bible we learned that after death we either go to heaven or hell.  do you believe in that?

  • @nganyung – No I don’t believe in heaven and hell. I respect the interpretation of the Bible that purports such a notion. My father is a Christian and by the definition will certainly go to heaven since he profess that Jesus is the son of God. Personally I trust the experiential knowledge I gained through mystical experiments that life continues to evolve and consequently see death as a transitory state rather than terminal end point. Thank you for the enquiry.

  • I also believe in reincarnation and that often those who are significant to us in one life may be so again in another. peace to you

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *